Contest Description

Humanist Canada is pleased to sponsor an essay contest to encourage students in their education and in learning more about humanism. Students may submit an essay in English or French

  • First Prize: $1,000
  • Second Prize: $750
  • Third Prize: $250
  • Honourable mention: $50 each

(An identical set of prizes will be awarded to the winning French contestants).

Other prizes, in addition to the monetary prizes, may be awarded, including possibly having some of the winning essays being published in the Canadian quarterly magazine, Humanist Perspectives.

https://www.humanistperspectives.org

The essay contest promotes the logical thinking and communication skills that humanists value. Humanism is a non-theistic philosophy that encourages the use of science, reason and critical thinking in defining goals and seeking solutions to problems. It affirms the inherent dignity and worth of each human being and asserts that the ethical principles of truth, fairness and compassion necessary in the governance of human actions for the improvement of our world. We are heartened that an increasing number of young people are accepting secular humanism as their worldview.

A committee of Humanist Canada volunteers administers the essay contest. All copyrights will belong to Humanist Canada. Interested students may access application forms and guidelines from the Humanist Canada website, or clicking on the button below.

More information on humanism in Canada is available on our website www.humanistcanada.ca and on our Facebook page www.facebook.com/secularhumanismcanada/

An original essay of 750-1500 words (not including references) is required, typed, double-spaced, in French or in English. An essay may have only one author. In addition, a parental permission waiver form (Required for students who are less than 18 years of age on March 1, 2019 who live in Alberta, in Saskatchewan, in Manitoba, in Ontario, in Quebec, and Prince Edward Island. and also required for students who are less than 19 years of age on March 1, 2019 who live in British Columbia, in Yukon, in Northwest Territories, in Nunavut, in New Brunswick, in Nova Scotia, in Newfoundland and Labrador), and proof of attendance in a Canadian high school or CEGEP. Students must be born after September 30, 1999.

The Humanist Canada Essay Contest Committee sometimes suggests an essay topic(s). This year the essay contest is open for students to apply their head and heart on any topic related to humanism that the student thinks will be of interest. For topic ideas it may be helpful to visit our website https://www.humanistcanada.ca/ or the easily-searchable websites of other humanist organizations. If you have any questions or require more information please contact us at:

info@hc-contest.ca

The deadline for essay submission is May 15, 2019. Winners will be announced in the spring or early summer.

Best regards,

Humanist Canada Essay Contest Committee (HCECC)

HCECC Advisors

Henry Beissel, Distinguished Emeritus Professor of English, Concordia University

Goldwin J. Emerson, BA, B Ed, M Ed, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Philosophy Dept., Faculty of Education, Western University 

Humanist Canada,

251 Laurier Ave West, Suite 900

OTTAWA, ON  K1P 5J6

Canada

Toll Free: 1 877 486 2671 Local: 613 739 9569

Humanist Canada

www.humanistcanada.ca

Additionnal information: 

  • For examples of writing and style guide it may be useful to consult the following link:

https://socialsciences.uottawa.ca/sites/socialsciences.uottawa.ca/files/writingandstyleguide2010-2011_001.pdf   (see page 26)

Description du concours

Humanist Canada et Association humaniste du Québec ont le plaisir de commanditer un concours de dissertation destiné à encourager les étudiants dans leurs études et leur permettre d’approfondir leurs connaissances de l’humanisme moderne. Les textes peuvent être soumis en français ou en anglais.

• Premier prix : $1,000 
• Deuxième prix : $750
• Troisième prix : $250
• Mention honorable : $50 chacun

(Un ensemble de prix identiques sera remis aux gagnants anglophones)

D’autres prix, en plus de ces derniers, pourront être ajoutés, telle la publication éventuelle des textes gagnants dans le bulletin de l’Association humaniste du Québec, le Québec humaniste

Ce concours est destiné à promouvoir la pensée critique et les talents de communication, des valeurs chères aux humanistes. L’humanisme séculier est une philosophie qui encourage le recours à la science, à la raison et à la pensée critique quand il s’agit de définir des objectifs et de rechercher des solutions. Elle affirme la dignité et la valeur intrinsèque de l’être humain et soutient qu’une éthique fondée sur la vérité, l’équité et la compassion sont des principes incontournables qui devraient guider chacune de nos décisions si nous désirons un monde meilleur. Nous sommes encouragés par le nombre croissant de jeunes qui découvrent dans l’humanisme séculier leur vision du monde.

Un comité de bénévoles de l’Association humaniste du Québec supervisera le concours en français.

L’Association humaniste du Québec conservera les droits de reproduction des oeuvres gagnantes.

Les étudiants intéressés à participer à ce concours trouveront les documents nécessaires en cliquant sur le bouton suivant

Vous trouverez plus d’information sur l’Humanisme séculier sur notre site web www.assohum.org et sur notre page Facebook https://www.facebook.com/assohum.org/ 

Un texte original de 750 à 1 500 mots (n’incluant pas les références) est requis, dactylographié, avec double interligne, en français ou en anglais. La dissertation ne peut avoir qu’un seul auteur. De plus, une autorisation parentale est requise (requis pour les étudiants ayant moins de 18 ans le 1er mars 2019 et habitant en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, en Ontario, au Québec et à l’Île du Prince-Edouard ou encore pour les étudiants ayant moins de 19 ans le 1er mars 2019 habitant la Colombie-Britannique, le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Nunavut, le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Labrador). Il faut également fournir une preuve d’inscription à une école secondaire ou à un CEGEP. Les élèves participants doivent être nés après le 30 septembre 1999.

Le Comité du concours humaniste peut suggérer un ou des thèmes pour la dissertation. Cette année le concours de dissertation est ouvert à tous les étudiants et nous les invitons à mettre leur talent et leur cœur au service de tout sujet relié à l’humanisme et qui leur semble important. Pour ceux à la recherche d’idée, visitez notre site http://assohum.org. Pour une recherche plus approfondie de ce qu’est l’humanisme séculier nous avons aussi un autre site à votre disposition http://humanisme.assohum.org/.

Si vous avez des questions ou avez besoin de plus d’informations, SVP nous contacter à l’adresse suivante:

info@assohum.org

La date limite pour soumettre votre dissertation est le 15 mai 2019. Les gagnants seront annoncés au printemps ou au début de l’été 2019.

Au plaisir de vous lire,
Le Comité du concours de dissertation de l’Association humaniste du Québec (AHQ)

1225, Boulevard St-Joseph Est, #101,

Montréal , Qc H2J 1L7

Tél. 514-333-5560

Information supplémentaire;

  • Pour des exemples de formatage des textes et du style de présentation, il peut être utile de consulter le lien suivant (voir la page 28);

https://sciencessociales.uottawa.ca/sites/socialsciences.uottawa.ca/files/guidederedaction2010-2011_000.pdf